Event: Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts 2019 Distinguished Alumni Awards

March 12, 2019, 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm

The Historic Academy of Medicine, 875 West Peachtree Street NE

2019 Distinguished Alumni Awards

Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts 2019 Distinguished Alumni Awards

Dean Jacqueline J. Royster and the Awards Planning Committee cordially invite you to attend the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts Distinguished Alumni Awards on Tuesday, March 12, 2019, at 5:30 P.M. to honor graduates from each of our six schools, friends and supporters of the college, and recipients of the Ivan Allen Jr Legacy Awards.

Here is the schedule for the evening:

  • 5:30 P.M. - 6:30 P.M.
    Networking Reception with Wine and a Buffet Dinner
  • 6:30 P.M. - 8:30 P.M.
    Awards Program & Presentations
    Welcome - Dean Jacqueline J. Royster
    Special Remarks - Provost Rafael L. Bras
    Award Presentations
    Closing Remarks - Dean Royster

RSVP: The favor of a reply by March 1 is requested.

The Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts Distinguished Alumni Awards were inaugurated in 2015. The awards celebrate excellence in the College community by honoring outstanding graduates of the College, current undergraduates, graduate students, and faculty, as well as our friends and supporters. These individuals have achieved notable success in their profession and may have contributed significantly to the College, the Institute, or the public welfare.

Three categories of awards will be presented: the Ivan Allen Jr Legacy Awards, the Distinguished Alumni Awards recognizing graduates from each of our six schools, and the Dean’s Appreciation Award honoring  supporters of the College.  

The 2019 Honorees are:

★ Ivan Allen Jr. Legacy Awards ★

Undergraduate Yonatan Weinberg (History, Technology, and Society)

Graduate Emma M. Browning (International Affairs)

Faculty Shatakshee Dhongde (Economics)

★ Distinguished Alumni Awards ★

School of Public Policy
Leisha DeHart-Davis
(M.S. Public Policy 1993, Ph.D. Public Policy 2000)

The Sam Nunn School of International Affairs
Andrew Harris
(M.S. International Affairs 2010)

School of Economics
 Joseph B. Owens, Jr.
(B.S. Economics 1977) 

School of Literature, Media, and Communication
Blake Butler
(B.S. Science, Technology, and Culture 2003)

School of Modern Languages
Kristin Lundberg
(B.S. International Affairs and Modern Languages 2006) 

School of History and Sociology
Angelina Long Callahan
(M.S. History and Sociology of Technology and Science 2009
Ph.D. History and Sociology of Technology and Science 2013)

★ Dean’s Appreciation Award ★

L. Reed Catlett and John M. Stern